Physics 1501, Physics for Engineers I
(Fall Semester 2008)

Academic Calendar and Homework Assignments

Week Date Chapter/Exam Homework
1 Mon Aug 25 Ch. 1, Doing Physics  
  Wed Aug 27 Ch. 2, Motion in a Straght Line  
  Fri Aug 29 Ch. 2, Motion in a Straght Line  
2 Mon Sep 1 Labor Day -- No classes  
  Wed Sep 3 Ch. 3, Motion in Two and Three Dimensions HW1 due
  Fri Sep 5 Ch. 3, Motion in Two and Three Dimensions  
3 Mon Sep 8 Ch. 4, Force and Motion  
  Wed Sep 10 Ch. 4, Force and Motion HW2 due
  Fri Sep 12 Ch. 4, Force and Motion  
4 Mon Sep 15 Ch. 5, Using Newton's Laws  
  Wed Sep 17 Ch. 5, Using Newton's Laws HW3 due
  Fri Sep 19 Ch. 5, Using Newton's Laws  
5 Mon Sep 22 Midterm I -- Ch. 1-5 HW4 due
  Wed Sep 24 Ch. 6, Work, Energy, Power  
  Fri Sep 26 Ch. 6, Work, Energy, Power  
6 Mon Sep 29 Ch. 7, Conservation of Energy  
  Wed Oct 1 Ch. 7, Conservation of Energy HW5 due
  Fri Oct 3 Ch. 7, Conservation of Energy  
7 Mon Oct 6 Ch. 9, Systems of Particles  
  Wed Oct 8 Ch. 9, Systems of Particles HW6 due
  Fri Oct 10 Ch. 10, Rotational Motion  
8 Mon Oct 13 Ch. 10, Rotational Motion  
  Wed Oct 15 Ch. 11, Angular Momentum HW7 due
  Fri Oct 17 Ch. 11, Angular Momentum  
9 Mon Oct 20 Ch. 12, Static Equilibrium  
  Wed Oct 22 Ch. 12, Static Equilibrium HW8 due
  Fri Oct 22 Ch. 12, Static Equilibrium  
10 Mon Oct 27 Midterm II -- Ch. 6, 7, 10-12 HW9 due
  Wed Oct 29 Ch. 15, Fluid Motion  
  Fri Oct 31 Ch. 15, Fluid Motion  
11 Mon Nov 3 Ch. 16, Temperature and Heat  
  Wed Nov 5 Ch. 16, Temperature and Heat HW10 due
  Fri Nov 7 Ch. 17, Thermal Behavior of Matter  
12 Mon Nov 10 Ch. 18, Heat and Work  
  Wed Nov 12 Ch. 18, Heat and Work HW11 due
  Fri Nov 14 Ch. 18, Heat and Work  
13 Mon Nov 17 Midterm III -- Ch. 15-18 HW12 due
  Wed Nov 19 Ch. 8, Gravity  
  Fri Nov 21 Ch. 13, Oscillatory Motion  
14 Mon Nov 24 Thanksgiving recess  
  Wed Nov 26 Thanksgiving recess  
  Fri Nov 28 Thanksgiving recess  
15 Mon Dec 1 Ch. 13, Oscillatory Motion  
  Wed Dec 3 Ch. 14, Wave Motion HW13 due
  Fri Dec 5 Ch. 14, Wave Motion  
16 TBA FINAL EXAM