conference logo



July 27 - August 1, 2008

First Announcement

General Information: The 21st International Conference on Atomic Physics, ICAP 2008, will be held from July 27-August 1, 2008 in scenic New England, on the campus of the University of Connecticut, Storrs, Connecticut, USA. This ongoing series of conferences, held every even-numbered year since 1968, is devoted to fundamental studies of atoms, broadly defined. The previous conference was held in Innsbruck, Austria in July 2006. Talks will encompass forefront research in basic AMO physics, emphasizing atoms and their interactions with each other and with external fields. Historically, topics have included quantum electrodynamics, tests of basic symmetries (CPT), precision measurements (including atomic clocks and fundamental constants), laser spectroscopy, ultracold atoms and molecules, Bose-Einstein condensates, degenerate Fermi gases, optical lattices, quantum computing with atoms and ions, coherent control, and ultrafast and intense field interactions. Notably, all invited talks are plenary, with contributed poster sessions. Nobel laureates participate actively. IUPAP sponsorship secured.
Program Committee: Alain Aspect (France)
Joachim Burgdoerfer (Austria)
Thomas Gallagher (USA)
David DeMille (USA)
Peter Hannaford (Australia)
Wonho Jhe (Korea)
Paul Julienne (USA)
Hidetoshi Katori (Japan)
Maciej Lewenstein (Spain)
Eugene Polzik (Denmark)
Gerhard Rempe (Germany)
Christophe Salomon (France)
Sandro Stringari (Italy)
Vladan Vuletic (USA)
Paul Corkum (Canada)
John Thomas (USA)
Kate Kirby (USA)
Peter Zoller (Austria)
Susanne Yelin (USA)
Location: University of Connecticut, Storrs, Connecticut, 06269, USA
The campus is approximately midway between New York City and Boston.
Important Dates:
April 18, 2008
Early registration ends
June 9, 2008
Abstract submission deadline
June 27, 2008
Preconference registration ends
July 22-26, 2008
International Conference on Precision Physics of Simple Atomic Systems,
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
July 20-25, 2008
One week related Summer School for new AMO researchers,
Harvard-MIT Center for Ultracold Atoms, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA.
July 27-August 1, 2008
ICAP2008 Conference, Storrs, Connecticut, USA
Contact: For questions please use the conference email address
Local co-chairs: Winthrop Smith, Phillip Gould, Robin Côté
Local Organizing
William Stwalley, Edward Eyler, Lutz Hüwel, Harvey Michels,
David DeMille, George Gibson, Juha Javanainen, Vasili Kharchenko,
David Perry, Michael Rozman, Susanne Yelin
International Advisory
Ennio Arimondo (Italy)
Vanderlei Bagnato (Brazil)
Viktor Balykin (Russia)
Rainer Blatt (Austria)
Claude Cohen-Tannoudji (France)
Gordon Drake (Canada)
Norval Fortson (USA)
Theodor Hänsch (Germany)
Serge Haroche (France)
Ed Hinds (UK)
Massimo Inguscio (Italy)
Wolfgang Ketterle (USA)
Daniel Kleppner (USA)
Ken Kulander (USA)
Indrek Martinson (Sweden)
Ernst Otten (Germany)
William Phillips (USA)
David Pritchard (USA)
Fujio Shimizu (Japan)
Jook Walraven (The Netherlands)
David Wineland (USA)
Tsutomu Yabuzaki (Japan)
IUPAP Sponsorship: In return for IUPAP sponsorship, the organizers have provided assurance that ICAP 2008 will be conducted in accordance with IUPAP principles as stated in the ICSU-Document "Universality of Science" (sixth edition, 1989) regarding the free circulation of scientists for international purposes. In particular, no bona fide scientist will be excluded from participation on the grounds of national origin, nationality, or political considerations unrelated to science.

Back to the ICAP 2008 website

© 2008 Department of Physics, University of Connecticut
This page was last updated by WWW administrator on April 29, 2008

Valid HTML 4.01! Valid CSS! Text only page version